Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

COMFORT ZONE (be willing to step out of it)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• COMFORT ZONE (be willing to step out of it)

Hello all,
    I haven't really contributed much to these forums (I probably should instead of just reading and so often shaking my head in disagreement with so many of the suggestions put forth here) but I've been checking back in every few days, for the past several months, to see what's developing.
    I loved the Elric story as a young teenager and reread it a couple of years ago in the Eternal Champion collections. I'm almost 20 years older now than I was my first time through them. It was quite an experience. A good friend of mine saw me reading one of them and his eyes lit up. Turns out he read them so many years ago, too. I lent him the books as I finished them and we each revisited this work that had made an impact during these especially formative years in our lives. It made for great discussion.
    We had stepped into this other world to escape our typically dysfunctional American families and brought these ideas and feelings back with us that played a real, active role in helping us to develop and maintain our own identities in a world that often seemed mad and chaotic. It's odd looking back at it. I feel a bit silly placing such importance on any one work of fiction but it's absolutely true.
    So thank you, Mr. Moorcock.
    On to the topic of the movie...