Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Mature Students

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mature Students

Interesting column in the Grauniad today by that Sutherland* chappie about how good an idea it would be to make 'higher (ie tertiary) education' more accessible, subsidised and generally 'friendly' for 'older' students - ie. people in their fifties plus, instead of a near-exclusive enclave of the relatively very young. He highlighted the advantages of the superior financial nous, better time-management and general extensive life experience of the older student.
    I'm a thirty-seven-year-old part-time PhD student, working both in a hospital-attached medical school and a marine biology lab, and I think he's got a great point. Certainly, I'm a more effective researcher/ studier/ resource investigator than I was for my undergrad work, and I think it would be great to see more 'older' students around campus. We seem to suffer with a terrible age-stratification in Britain. Besides the universities, the pubs and clubs are either under-21 or 'old fogey'. It's such a waste.
    I believe the situation is not as acute in the US. Comments and experiences, anyone?

*Not Donald. He was the one that drove that Sherman tank around France after gold with Clint Eastwood. The other one.