Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

American Fantasy(?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• American Fantasy(?)

I've been pondering something off-and-on for a few years. It came from an idea sparked by something Mike said a while ago--perhaps about Skayling Tree, though I could be mistaken as my memory of these things aren't as clear as it once was--about how Fantasy literature always falls back on European motifs of pseudo-feudalism, knights in shining armor, and fair maidens derived from the old Romances (now that I think of it, it may have been a passage from one of the essays in Wizardry and Wild Romance which I read around the same time as Skrayling Tree and so has a natural association) but that there isn't a truly American Fantasy. Certainly, there are fantasies by American authors, and modern fantasies that use America as a backdrop (American Gods comes immediately to mind), as well as a few that try to capture the American mythology of the lone hero rising to destroy the evils that the established orders are too paralyzed to act; but, where are the romances of true American origin?