Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Iain M Banks....Great stuff if you like Sci Fi!

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Governor of Rowe Island
    replied
    Finally, the world's funniest joke - as reported on Monty Python's Flying Circus - has been explained in a non-lethal format.
    I agree with Perdix. Genius, Mr. M., as soon as I read it I had to go and tell my wife.

    Leave a comment:


  • xidrep
    replied
    That's got to be the finest bit of Welt-politik/ Playground Pastime fusion I've seen this week!

    Genius, sir.
    Genius.

    Leave a comment:


  • Talisant
    replied
    :clap:

    I'm thinking at least a graphic novel or maybe the first ever all-clone reality television show.

    Leave a comment:


  • spaced_moorcock
    replied
    Originally posted by Michael Moorcock
    Speaking of paper cuts did anyone else ever wonder if the communist salute (clenched fist), nazi salute (extended palm) inspired Churchill's V-sign as the only one of the three left unused (i.e. stone, paper, scissors).
    Was the whole of the period around WW2 just one long, terrible game of 'Blunted ya!' 'Cut ya!' 'Wrapped ya' ?).
    It's been a hard week.
    :lol:

    That's going to have me laughing for weeks. Cheers Mike! :notworthy:

    Leave a comment:


  • CandyFlossCow
    replied
    :lol:

    There must be a book in that, or a sketch; or at least a way of enlivening history lessons... :) Maybe Chamberlain only played marbles at school and so plumped for paper over scissors.

    Leave a comment:


  • Michael Moorcock
    replied
    Speaking of paper cuts did anyone else ever wonder if the communist salute (clenched fist), nazi salute (extended palm) inspired Churchill's V-sign as the only one of the three left unused (i.e. stone, paper, scissors).
    Was the whole of the period around WW2 just one long, terrible game of 'Blunted ya!' 'Cut ya!' 'Wrapped ya' ?).
    It's been a hard week.

    Leave a comment:


  • xidrep
    replied
    Sphagnum moss, as demonstrated by DP fell running in Ilkley.
    'Perdix's Panty Products - holistic care for your crevice'.
    Soz. True retrospection took over for a sec, there.

    Leave a comment:


  • A_Non_Ymous
    replied
    Don't overlook the hazards of papercuts!

    Rabelais always recommended the backs of geese instead.

    LSN

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    Re: Iain M Banks....Great stuff if you like Sci Fi!

    Originally posted by Richard Eldritch
    I've loved his books so far, The Culture, one of his main themes, is a bit like a parody of new labour in space!
    No young, or child-like prodigys involved!
    Read aany of these Mike?

    I read a lot of Iain M Banks and found his work a tad bland in comparison with authors like John C.Wright (The Golden Age).Banks's folk seem too much like working class Scottish folk you'd meet in a shopping centre in Glasgow, even if they're supposed to come from some star spanning culture. Banks also cheats just to have a twist at the end of one of his culture stories (Use of Weapons is it?) ans Consider Phlegm, oops! sorry Phlebas has the most unlikeable protagonist take far too long to meet his demise.His books do make excellent toilet paper by the way!

    Leave a comment:


  • Iain M Banks....Great stuff if you like Sci Fi!

    I've loved his books so far, The Culture, one of his main themes, is a bit like a parody of new labour in space!
    No young, or child-like prodigys involved!
    Read aany of these Mike?
Working...
X