Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Author August 2010 Nominations @ Science Fiction Message Board

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Dead-Air
    Eternal Champion
    • Jun 2004
    • 2737

    Author August 2010 Nominations @ Science Fiction Message Board

    At the Science Fiction Message Board, it is our continuing ambition to have a thread for every notable science fiction author, bar none! We would particularly welcome your book reviews, links to relevant websites, personal reminiscences, cover scans, recommendations, and anything else that seems relevant. Discussion is always encouraged.

    One of the main ways we add to our list is by holding our annual Author August post-a-thon. This event, now in its fifth year, spotlights a different SF writer for every day of this hot summer month. And to choose which authors to focus on, we need your assistance.

    The list below shows all the authors we've added to our August assembly over the past few years. We'd like to add a few other names, old or new, for 2010's odyssey. The names with an asterisk against them were covered in 2009, so we don't really want to feature them again this year. Authors from previous years, however, are eligible for a reappearance if you've got somebody you would really like to discuss this August.

    So, who do you want to see on our August 2010 roster? Let us know by posting here! The only rule is that after you have nominated an author, you should wait until another person has made the next nomination before you suggest another yourself.

    In a couple of weeks or so we'll be posting a calendar showing who will be celebrated on each day of the month. We hope you will be able to drop by regularly to join in our month-long celebration of the people who have made science fiction the thriving genre and community it is today!

    Douglas Adams
    Brian W. Aldiss
    Poul Anderson
    Piers Anthony
    *Neil Asher
    Isaac Asimov
    *J. G. Ballard
    Iain M. Banks
    Elizabeth Bear
    Greg Bear
    Gregory Benford
    *Alfred Bester
    Lloyd Biggle Jr.
    *James Blish
    Leigh Brackett
    Ray Bradbury
    Marion Zimmer Bradley
    David Brin
    Fredric Brown
    Rosel George Brown
    John Brunner
    Algis Budrys
    Kenneth Bulmer
    Edgar Rice Burroughs
    *Octavia Butler
    Pat Cadigan
    John W. Campbell
    Orson Scott Card
    *Jack L. Chalker
    C. J. Cherryh
    Arthur C. Clarke
    *Hal Clement
    Peter David
    L. Sprague de Camp
    Storm Constantine
    Samuel R. Delany
    Phillip K. Dick
    Gordon R. Dickson
    Thomas M Disch
    David Drake
    Harlan Ellison
    *Kelly Eskridge
    Phillip Jose Farmer
    *Alan Dean Foster
    Neil Gaiman
    Hugo Gernsback
    William Gibson
    Kathleen Ann Goonan
    *Nicola Griffith
    Edmond Hamilton
    Peter F. Hamilton
    Harry Harrison
    M. John Harrison
    Robert A. Heinlein
    Zenna Henderson
    Frank Herbert
    *E.T.A. Hoffman
    Nalo Hopkinson
    *Colin Kapp
    Daniel Keyes
    Caitlin Kiernan
    Damon Knight
    C. M. Kornbluth
    Nancy Kress
    Henry Kuttner
    *Kurd Lasswitz
    Keith Laumer
    Tanith Lee
    Ursula K. LeGuin
    *Fritz Leiber
    Murray Leinster
    Stanislaw Lem
    H. P. Lovecraft
    Katherine MacLean
    *Ken MacLeod
    Anne McCaffrey
    *Ian McDonald
    J.T. McIntosh
    Vonda McIntyre
    *Sean McMullen
    Judith Merril
    Pat Mills
    Walter M. Miller, Jr
    Elizabeth Moon
    Michael Moorcock
    C. L. Moore
    Larry Niven
    Andre Norton
    Chad Oliver
    Alexie Panshin
    Marge Piercy
    H. Beam Piper
    Frederik Pohl
    Jerry Pournelle
    *Phillip Reeve
    Alastair Reynolds
    Adam Roberts
    Keith Roberts
    Spider Robinson
    Justina Robson
    Joanna Russ
    Eric Frank Russell
    Fred Saberhagen
    Nick Sagan
    *Robert J. Sawyer
    John Scalzi
    *Karl Schroeder
    Robert Sheckley
    Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
    Nevil Shute
    Robert Silverberg
    Clifford D. Simak
    *Dan Simmons
    *Alison Sinclair
    Cordwainer Smith
    *Norman Spinrad
    Neal Stephenson
    Bruce Sterling
    *S.M. Stirling
    *Charles Stross
    *Lucy Sussex
    *William Tenn (Phillip Klass)
    Sheri S Tepper
    James Tiptree Jr. (Alice Sheldon)
    *E.C. Tubb
    Harry Turtledove
    Jack Vance
    *John Varley
    Jules Verne
    Joan D. Vinge
    Vernor Vinge
    A. E. Van Vogt
    Kurt Vonnegut
    Howard Waldrop
    Ian Watson
    H. G. Wells
    *David Williams
    Walter Jon Williams
    Jack Williamson
    *Gene Wolfe
    Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
    Roger Zelazny

    So who do YOU want to NOMINATE?
    Last edited by Dead-Air; 07-08-2010, 05:25 PM.
    My Facebook; My Band; My Radio Show; My Flickr Page; Science Fiction Message Board