Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Elric taught in NYC high Schools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elric taught in NYC high Schools

This post is mainly for Mr. Moorcock but if anyone else has anything to say I would appreciate the feedback.
    I'm an English teacher for the NYC Dept. of Education, which in itself can be a war between Chaos and Law, I have been using Elric as an example in teaching literary elements to my kids (Elric is a shining example of the four basic conflicts in literature).
    So far I've had success in showing the kids that literary elements can be used in practically any aspect of life: telling stories, movies, comic books, TV shows etc. I use movies and comic characters as examples to spark interest in the subject.
    The problem I have (and the problem all teachers face) is competing with attention spans. Since kids base a lot of what they know on TV, movies and music, teaching in front of a classroom full of 37 kids becomes archaic in broadening their horizons.
    I've used Elric in my classroom in many ways, such as excerpts (which hopefully they read), artwork and poetry (Elric's spells, Wheldrake and "Veteran of the Psychic Wars") and I've met with some success.
    Now, however, I'm faced with a new program that includes 90 minutes of various instruction. Keep in mind I teach in an inner city school so these programs usually don't work but my job is riding on following "The Script".