Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Academic question for Mike (and maybe others)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Academic question for Mike (and maybe others)

Hi Mike,

I wonder if I could bother yourself and, perhaps, some of your readers for some information please? I'm a mature student studying at the University of Greenwich for the third year of my BA in Humanities after completing an HND in Professional Writing. My plan is to become a full-time writer, especially in the area of novel writing.

I've opted to do a 10,000 word dissertation as part of my degree and am searching around for research material. I won't bore you with the full proposal but I am writing a paper on Free and Alternative Festivals 1970-1992 with particular emphasis on the acts involved, the fans and how their spirit was affected by Romanticism, Modernism etc.

I'm going to draft some specific queries but could I take this chance to invite some comment from yourself and other forum members regarding festivals and festival people please?

I'm trying to piece together some of the spirit behind the creativity of the early days to about 1981 (i.e. Ladbroke Grove etc.). What were people reading and writing? How did they see themselves? What do you (and your readers) remember about the great Free Festivals and their offshoots? Does anyone remember organisers / movers and shakers? Any good research information / newsclipping etc. available on the internet or via Amazon? All comments welcome (feel free to Private Message me).