Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

The Star of Chaos

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Star of Chaos

Mike, do you by any chance get royalties when people use the "eight pointed star of chaos"? I was recently playing Warhammer: Dawn of War, nd after some forces escape there was a cut scene "The ship bore the eight-pointed star of chaos. . . " ! Man, your stuff sneaks into everything. I'm fairly new to the Warhammer universe, so having "chaos" as an active force and standards of that star came as a surprise to me. . . :(

Originally posted by On Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:59 am, Michael Moorcock
    Yes, it's the case. I drew it at my kitchen table while thinking up suitable symbols for Law (a single arrow) and Chaos (eight arrows representing all possible choices). Games Workshop couldn't exist without the things they've ripped off from me and Tolkien. If they'd made more of the material, I wouldn't mind. But they've dumbed it down, too. Sometimes I get weary of this crap. Other times, people remind me, that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. A more sincere form of flattery than that, of course, is when they ask you first. As I've often said -- they can say it's flattery, but that's the flattery of the guy you catch in your apartment when you come home at night and he's just heading for the fire escape with your new TV. 'Great taste in TVs, man,' he says....
    Originally posted by And on Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:50 pm Michael Moorcock again