Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Scripting for comic books

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scripting for comic books

These questions are primarily for Mr. Moorcock, but I would appreciate anyone's advice. How do you script for a comic book? What kinds of things does the artist need to know? Do you describe each panel or do you give a general description of that page? I've never tried to do anything like this before, so I don't really have any idea where to begin. Thanks in advance!

I guess it would depend on whether your comic is story driven, or action (or art) driven. If it is story driven, then it would help to have a coherent script put together. After the script is ready, the pages can be broken into panels with quick sketches to indicate the scenes and dialogue. The artist would take the page breakdown/storyboard as a template, and begin to draw the actual pages. Traditional comics are inked, lettered and coloured (not necessarily in that order) after the pencils are done, though some more recent comics do a digital colour process overtop of the scanned pencils. In the case of digital comics, lettering can be added last.

If the story is more action driven, then a plot outline would suffice. A storyboard would be made based on the outline, and the art would be done before the actual story is written in. This would be a good option for a writer who is collaborating with an artist, and would give the creative process more of an organic development.