Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Greetings!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings!

Salutations to all fellow forum-members! I am new to the Miscellany, and thought it best to introduce myself.

My name, as is obvious from my handle, is Lisa; I am at present 23 years old, a graduate of the University of Texas, and an aspiring writer, rogue scholar, and seeker after adventure. Academically my interests lie in East Asia, specifically in Japan before 700 AD and China during the Qin and Han dynasties. I also take a decided interest in the philosophy of religion and the role religion as an institution has played in the shaping of human history.

Yet I doubt you are here to engage in the aggrandizement of my ego, so I will set the self-admiration aside for the time being. :lol:

I first became interested in Mr. Moorcock's work as a junior high school student in the early 1990s. Having slogged dutifully through The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings and put both aside in utter boredom, I voiced my complaints to a similarly bibliophilic acquaintence, who promptly pointed me in the direction of the county library's Elric Saga omnibus volumes. As I recall, I devoured the entire series in a matter of several weeks and ended up rereading it several times before I finished public school in 1999. I own the Elric books and a great deal more of Moorcock's Eternal Champion cycle these days and continue to read and reread them with relish.